Am I still a Bookworm?

photo from weheartit.com

Since I was a kid, I’ve been reading books. I can remember clearly that the very first book that I finished cover to cover was Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. I was still in the 4th grade and the movie was just about to come out. One of my sisters, who is a die-hard bookworm, influenced me. Within the month, I finished the four Harry Potters that have been released. Then waited and waited and reserved and was always there to buy for the release of the 5th, 6th and the last book of the series.

Reading novel length books when I was younger actually helped me in school. Whenever we took those comprehensive exams, it would always result into me having a superior reading comprehension rate. I vaguely remember that when I was 5th or 6th grade, I was reading at the level of upperclassmen high schoolers.

During that time, I dubbed myself a bookworm. I was one of the few who went to the library and borrow some books. I read a lot of Nancy Drew books back then.

There is nothing like reading. It makes you smart! It is both fun yet your brain is actually doing something, you know? You get to be chilled out and be so relaxed, too.

With this blog post, I have to admit, I haven’t been reading anymore noteworthy books. I try to but sometimes, they seem so heavy to me now. (Is this me getting non-smart? Noo!) Maybe I’m only cut out for light reading now.

This part here is where I rant about books that I’ve read, I’ve tried to read, or will someday read.

The Lord of the Rings Trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkien I am ashamed to say that I tried to finish this. I really did. But it gave me headaches. So I gave it up. I did see all the movies though. Hopefully that counts for something… but not really. So, maybe, A Song of Fire and Ice is out of the question, then? I can’t even push myself to watch Game of Thrones. Gah!

The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel Series (by Michael Scott) – My sister has first edition hard cover copies of the books… and I only read the first one, if I recall correctly. The book did have the same feel as Harry Potter, in my opinion.

I did breeze through the Hunger Games books (by Suzanne Collins) though. I read through the night with those books. I guess its fast pace got me hooked.

I’ve read all of Rick Riordan’s books that involve mythology: The Percy Jackson books, the Heroes of Olympus books that have been released (and am I waiting for the next one), and the Kane Chronicles. I’ve always been interested in mythology as a kid. These books have fast paced adventures that were very nice for me to read.

I read the Hex Hall books (by Rachel Hawkins) last semestral break. I was bored and I wanted to do soothing with my time. It was a fun read though. I literally laughed out loud at one point.

Just goes to show I am not for those slow epics. The epic fantasy tales of traveling, fights and adventures don’t really capture my interest much.

I have to be honest and say that I have read all the Twilight books… and I have mentioned that I enjoyed them. Slightly. The story wasn’t really that good, but it was a love story nonetheless. I happen to enjoy love stories, that’s just the girl in me.

Also, I have read the majority of the Bridgerton Series by Julia Quinn in the past years. I’ve always liked those period novels. They give a different feel and flavor of romance that is so rare nowadays.

So, for the past months, I’ve convinced myself to read the Mortal Instruments and the Infernal Devices series (both by Cassandra Clare) later.  Sadly, I’m still at the first couple of chapters. School’s been a distraction.

You can picture it now. If you’d give me a book to actually read, I’d be given a romance novel, filled with swoon-worthy moments and sweet words minus the smut, of course.

For the record, I have no interest in those 50 Shades books. Those are way past the level of “icky” that I can take.

Lately though, I’ve been leaning towards the Young Adult genre. That is so typical! (I’ve been looking up YA books at Goodreads.) I enjoy it and that’s what matters. And more importantly, I want to branch out. Read more of the Classics, try to read those epic tales, maybe venture into non-fiction? I’m not sure yet but we’ll see.

So, the question. Am I still a bookworm?

2 thoughts on “Am I still a Bookworm?

Leave a Reply

