Words from a not-so-teenager

Just last week, my older sister showed me this picture. She is 10 years my senior, so, I trust her & listen to her advice a lot. Anyway, she practically planted my face in front of the laptop’s screen just to read this little article.

image from Google

(I have a feeling this is going to be a heavy post. Pardon me if my thoughts are not organized.)

I am not a teenager anymore. In fact, I am turning 21 at the end of the month. At this age, I guess I have to “man-up.”

In my country, the Philippines, most 20 year olds have already finished university. I am one of those who got lagged behind. My slight delay in finishing my studies and the reasons behind it are a bit of a concern for my sister and the rest of my family. I think that they have this impression that I am too lax… that I don’t care. They assume that I am waiting on the world – waiting for it to give me something. I’m not, though.

They keep on telling me that I have great potential. I could succeed… if I only wanted to. That’s just it though, I do. I want to succeed. I want to “have it all.” I mean, who doesn’t, right?

I have asked myself hundreds of time as to where I would be after I finish my studies. And it terrifies me. Why? Because, I honestly don’t know where I’d be. I don’t have a concrete plan. I don’t know what kind of job I’d want or see myself in. I don’t know what it will be like and it’s scary not knowing. The future is scary.

But I do want to know. I want to know where I want to be. I want to know who I’m going to be. And putting pressure on me won’t help me see and decide.

I might not be as independent as expected but I would like to be. I want to someday soon be able to fend for myself. Stand on my own feet. That counts for something, doesn’t it?

I am graduating next semester. See there? I AM. I am sure of this. I don’t care if I jinx it or whatever. I will do this. I might not know where I’ll be but I know I’ll get there.

*Hey reader, if in any way you can relate to this post, I hope you will realize something that I have… The world does not owe me anything. The world has given me many things. I guess, it is up to me to use what its offered make something worthwhile.

“Most successful men have not achieved their distinction by having some new talent or opportunity presented to them. They have developed the opportunity that was at hand.”
Bruce Barton

Leave a Reply

